Back to All Events

39th Anniversary Dinner

  • Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium 1301 Constitution Avenue Northwest Washington, DC, 20004 United States (map)

Refugees International’s annual Anniversary Dinner is an awards ceremony and celebration honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment to humanitarian action. More than 500 people attend this event each year.

This year’s McCall-Pierpaoli Award, RI’s highest humanitarian award, will be presented to Hamdi Ulukaya. Mr. Ulukaya is the founder and CEO of Chobani and founder of Tent Foundation. Not only has he played a leadership role in rallying corporations and businesses to help alleviate the suffering of Syrian refugees, he himself has helped refugees with their resettlement, setting an example by employing numerous refugees in his factories in the United States.

U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota will receive Refugees International’s 2018 Congressional Leadership Award in recognition of her commitment to the protection of refugees around the world and within the United States. Senator Klobuchar has been a proud champion for Minnesota’s refugee communities and called for the U.S. to resettle more Syrian refugees.  She has fought for greater public recognition of the major contributions refugees make to our country and for orphaned and other vulnerable refugee children to be placed with American families.

The Richard C. Holbrooke Leadership Award will be presented to Hala al-Sarraf, director of the Iraq Health Access Organization (IHAO), an NGO that works on the front lines with those internally displaced in Iraq. Our Award Committee selected IHAO for its tireless efforts in addressing the needs of the internally displaced in Iraq, particularly during the urgent humanitarian crisis of the past several years. 

His Excellency Ambassador of Portugal Domingos Fezas Vital and Ms. Isabel Fezas Vital will serve as Honorary Chair of the event. Refugees International Board Emeritus and award-winning actor, Sam Waterston, will be the Master of Ceremonies. Darya and Vali Nasr will serve as the evening’s Benefit Chairs, and Sarah Bovim, Vice President, Government Affairs, Whirlpool Corporation will chair the Global Partnership Initiative. 

Refugees International would like to thank the following sponsors of the 39th Anniversary Dinner:

Humanitarian Circle
Elizabeth and Michael Galvin

Vaithehi Muttulingam and Bala Cumaresan
Pivotal Foundation/Francis & Dionne Najafi
Nina and Dino Saglimbeni
Eileen Shields-West and Robin West
Jan Weil and Amos Avgar
Maureen White and Steven Rattner

Lisa Barry and James Gale
Gilead Sciences
Irfan Kathwari Foundation
Repsol Oil & Gas USA, LLC
Frederica and George Valanos

Anonymous (2)
Joy and Jonathan Alferness
Darcy Bacon And Sarah Hogate Bacon
Annie E. Casey Foundation
The Honorable C. Boyden Gray
Demet Öger
Rachel Pearson

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Albright Stonebridge
APCO Worldwide
Blackstone Charitable Foundation
BP America
Bradley Charitable Fund
Cassidy Levy Kent LLP
Discovery, Inc.
Cheryl Feigenson and Jeffrey Tindell
The Robert and Mary Haft Foundation, Inc.
Deborah Harmon
Diane and Michael Hawkins
Innisfree M&A Inc. 
Heather and Jim Johnson
Silke Johnstone and the Honorable L. Craig Johnstone
Cindy and Evan Jones
Martina Jones and William Braun, Jr.
Linda Lipsett and Jules Bernstein
Macro Advisory Partners
Shaista Mahmood and Ambassador Rafat Mahmood
Jana Mason and Shu-Ping Chan
Darya and Vali Nasr
Elise Rabekoff and Christopher Gladstone
Stanley Black & Decker
Enzo Viscusi
Diana and Mallory Walker
Whirlpool Corporation

Meena and Liaquat Ahamed
Nora Cameron
Catherine Graham and the Honorable Eric Schwartz
Kathy and Allan Hubbard
Kiyoshi Nakasaka
Maureen Orth
Helene Patterson and Leo Mullen
Advisors (continued)
Rose Thorne and the Honorable David Thorne
Mariella and Michael Trager
Caryn and Steve Wechsler

Ludmilla and Conrad Cafritz
Paula Carreiro and Peter Branch
CGCN Group
Choate Hall & Stewart LLP
Meg and Christian Clerc
Carla Eudy
Shannon Finley
Maxine Isaacs
Shamim Jawad and Ambassador Said Jawad
Michelle Kosinski
Marisol Lamadrid and Jacob Pearlstein
Jean and John Lange
Lynx Investment Advisory
Margot Machol
Dane Nichols
Leslie Schweitzer
Alejandra and Enrique Segura
Katherine and Andrew Stephen
Elizabeth and Alain Taghipour
The Garcia Family Spotlight Foundation
Annie Totah
Veronica Valencia-Sarukhan and Ambassador Arturo Sarukhan
Natacha and Anthony Weiss

Special Thanks
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Capital Engraving
Frost Lighting
Fabrication Events
Kobrand Fine Wine and Spirits
Potomac Wines and Spirits
Something Fabulous
Amanda and Espen Tuft
United Way Worldwide Print Services

For more information, please contact