Back to All Events

15th Annual New York Circle: A Night for Refugees

  • Harold Pratt House 58 E 68th Street New York, NY United States (map)

Refugees International’s New York Circle is an awards ceremony and celebration honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment to humanitarian action. The highlight of the evening is the presentation of the Exceptional Service Award to an individual who has committed his/her life’s work to tackling today’s humanitarian challenges. This year, RI will present its Exceptional Service Award to Ambassador Samantha Power, the former Permanent United States Representative to the United Nations, for her longstanding commitment to protecting refugees and displaced populations. Prior to her appointment as the U.S. Representative to the UN, Ambassador Power was a war correspondent in Yugoslavia and served as the first director of the Carr Center for Human Rights at Human Rights at the Harvard Kennedy School. She has written several books on genocide and humanitarian issues.

Additionally, celebrated Syrian refugee violinist Mariela Shaker will perform and share her story.

Please join us to meet RI advocates and courageous individuals working to reverse the trend of increasing human displacement. We hope you will be able to be with us for an evening of animated and thoughtful discussion.

2017 New York Circle Benefit Committee:

Sarah Bacon, Co-Chair
Caroline Netchvolodoff, Co-Chair
Natacha Weiss, Co-Chair

Joy and Jonathan Alferness
Leslie and George Biddle
Clara Bingham and Joe Finnerty
Jodi Bond
Ghislaine Boreel and James Shallcross
Lauren Bush Lauren and David Lauren
Stephanie Cabot and Marcus Lovell-Smith
Josephine and Peter Callahan
Jennifer and Michael Caputo
Cecile Casablancas
Adrienne and James Conzelman
Maria d'Albert and Mark Prutsalis
Sloane Davidson
Alison Deans
Matt Dillon
Sophal Ear
Elizabeth and Michael Galvin
Marianne Gimon d'Ansembourg and Alessandro d'Ansembourg
Lindsay Grusko
Marybeth and Chris Harvey
Haideh Hirmand
Patty and Robert Isen
Angelina Jolin
Farida and Farooq Kathwari
Ambassador Betty King
Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
Dr. Christine Mahoney Kluge and John Kluge
Ida and Henry Makanzi
Kati Marton
Susan McPherson
Barbara and Garrett Melby
Isa and Jon Moneypenny
Valerie Monroe
Megan Mylan
Demet Öger
Sally and Steve Paridis
Peta and Gary Roubin
Amanda Seyfried and Thomas Sadoski
Nina and Dino Saglimbeni
Deborah Sankey
Mimi and Dr. Jacques Sebisaho
Lisa Shamus
Lisa Shields
Eileen Shields-West and Robin West
Caroline Sitbon
Nancy Steiner and David Michaelis
Jennifer and Jack Sullivan
Kelly Sullivan
Mariella and Michael Trager
Sandra Sennett Tully and Bruce Tully
Frederica and George Valanos
Alexandra von Wussow
Anna Vranos
Tine Ward
Lynn and Sam Waterston
Jan Weil and Amos Avgar
Anthony Weiss
Christina Weiss Lurie
Jane Wells
Maureen White and Steve Rattner
Amy and Andrew Whiteley
Kelly and Patrick Wolfington-Kelley

2017 New York Circle Junior Benefit Committee:

Ellie Clerc
Ari Ezra
Isaac Flannagan
Joseph Hasson
Kyle Hunter
Elizabeth Jennings
Julian Lurie
Milena Lurie
Alexander McCall
Henry McCall
Nicholas McCall
Peter McCall
Diana Michaelis
Henry Michaelis
Jamie Michaelis
Henry Sankey
Max Sankey
Ava Shields
Laura Shields-West
John Walker
Alexander Weiss


Interested in sponsoring the New York Circle? Click here for our sponsorship information form.

Please contact Tamala Scott at 202.828.0110 ext. 204 or with any questions.

If you have a pre-existing pledge for this event and would like to pay by credit card, please call 202.828.0110 ext. 207.

Earlier Event: April 25
38th Anniversary Dinner