Back to All Events

37th Annual Anniversary Dinner

  • Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium 1301 Constitution Ave NW Washington, DC, 20229 United States (map)

Refugees International’s 37th annual Anniversary Dinner is an awards ceremony and celebration honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment to humanitarian action. Nearly 500 people attend this extraordinary celebration each year.

This year’s McCall-Pierpaoli Award, RI’s highest humanitarian award, will be presented to Sir Richard Branson, founder of the Virgin Group and a leader in global efforts to end conflict, address complex global issues, and establish sustainable healthcare models in underdeveloped countries.

The evening will also feature the presentation of our Congressional Leadership Award to Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) and our Richard C. Holbrooke Award to Olena Honcharova, a civil society leader in Ukraine.

   Sir Richard Branson, Senator Ben Cardin, and Olena Honcharova.

   Sir Richard Branson, Senator Ben Cardin, and Olena Honcharova.

His Excellency Ambassador of France Gérard Araud will serve as Honorary Chair of the event. Refugees International board member Academy Award nominated actor Matt Dillon will be the Master of Ceremonies. Maria and Fabio Trabocchi will serve as the evening’s Benefit Chairs, and Laura Lane, President of UPS Global Public Affairs, will chair the Global Partnership Initiative.

The 37th Anniversary Dinner begins at 7:00pm, with a general reception at 6:15pm. 

Refugees International would like to thank the following sponsors of the 37th Anniversary Dinner:

Humanitarian Circle
Elizabeth and Michael Galvin

Nina and Dino Saglimbeni
Eileen Shields-West and Robin West
Jan Weil and Amos Avgar

Lisa Barry and James Gale
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP
Frederica and George Valanos
Varkey Foundation

Joy and Jonathan Alferness
Anonymous (2)
The Bacon Family
Jeannien and Michael Berkman
BNSF Railway Company
Bradley Charitable Fund
Kendra Davis and Joseph Trahern
Irfan Kathwari Foundation
Tatiana Maxwell
MGF TOUCH Foundation of The Columbus Foundation
Vaithehi Muttulingam and Bala Cumaresan
Demet Öger
UBS Private Wealth Management, Alexia and Roderick von Lipsey

Abacus Technology Corporation
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld
His Excellency Ambassador of the United Arab Emirates Yousef Al Otaiba and Mrs. Abeer Al Otaiba
Alston & Bird LLP
American Trucking Associations
AT&T, Inc.
The Blackstone Charitable Foundation
Citigroup Inc.
Comcast NBCUniversal
DCI Group, LLC
Fletcher, O'Brien, Kasper and Nottage
Diane and Michael Hawkins
Holland & Knight
IQ Engineering
Jackson Lewis P.C.
King & Spalding
Linda Lipsett and Jules Bernstein
Debra and Michael McCurry
National Hockey League
Perkins Coie LLP
Platinum Advisors LLC
Victoria and Roger Sant
Joseph Schwartzberg
Annie Totah
Union Pacific Corporation
Diana and Mallory Walker
WIne & Spirits Wholesalers of America

For more information, please contact

View previous Events and Anniversary Dinners


Earlier Event: December 2
13th Annual New York Circle
Later Event: May 16
Fundraiser at Ankara Restaurant