Back to All Events

30th Annual Anniversary Dinner

  • The Embassy of Italy 3000 Whitehaven Street Northwest Washington, DC, 20008 United States (map)

Ted Turner will be presented with the McCall-Pierpaoli Humanitarian Award, RI’s most prestigious honor.  We are honored to be able to commend him for the creation of CNN, the world’s most respected news source, which is renowned for bringing humanitarian issues to light, along with his inspiring commitment to humanitarian issues through the establishment of the United Nations Foundation.  Former RI Board member, Ambassador Richard Holbrooke will present Mr. Turner with this award, and Christiane Amanpour, CNN Chief International Correspondent and one of the most distinguished TV journalists in the world, will interview Mr. Turner during the dinner program.

The McCall-Pierpaoli Humanitarian Award, named in memory of Penny and David McCall and Yvette Pierpaoli who died during a Refugees International (RI) mission to Albania in 1999, pays homage to exceptional individuals who have demonstrated tireless effort and commitment to humanitarian ideals and improved service to refugees and displaced people.  Past recipients include former Secretary-General of the United Nations Kofi Annan and Mrs. Nane Annan, former United States Ambassador to the United Nations John Danforth, former Assistant Secretary of State Julia Taft, former Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations Sir Mark Malloch-Brown and Lady Trish Malloch-Brown, and Mia Farrow and her son Ronan, for their tremendous commitment to the people of Darfur.  
Senator Sam Brownback and Congresswoman Nita Lowey will receive RI’s Congressional Leadership Award for their long standing service to refugees and their commitment to refugee protection efforts.

Sam Waterston, Oscar-nominated actor and Refugees International Board Member, will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the event.  Waterston plays District Attorney Jack McCoy on NBC’s Law & Order, the longest-running crime series and the second longest-running drama series in the history of television.  

Event Co-Chairs: Mariella and Michael Trager

Honorary Patrons: His Excellency, the Ambassador of Italy, and Mrs. Giovanni Castellaneta

Later Event: May 6
31st Annual Anniverary Dinner